SMHR award winners 2015

Awarded at the 37th Annual SMHR Conference, Brisbane, Qld

Professor Michael Berk

SMHR Founders Medal

This award was named in honour of the four founders of SMHR: Professors Scott Henderson, Issy Pilowsky, Graham Burrows and Peter Beaumont. The medal is awarded to persons who, over their entire careers, have made a contribution of significance to psychiatric research.

Professor Maree Teesson

SMHR Oration Award

This Oration is given at each conference by a member of SMHR who is prominent or rising to prominence in the Australian and New Zealand psychiatric research community.

Dr Philip Batterham

SMHR Rising Star Award

The SMHR Rising Star Award is intended for SMHR researchers whose work is beginning to make a significant impact on the national and international scene, reflecting either scientific excellence or public impact (or both) - the "rising stars" in mental health research.

Rohan Borschmann

SMHR Early Career Scholar Award

This award is for a researcher early in their career to enable attendance at the 2015 SMHR Conference.

Bethany Jones

SMHR Consumer-Researcher Award

The SMHR Consumer-Researcher Award has been set up to encourage the involvement of consumers as investigators in psychiatric research as well as to encourage consumer-oriented research. Posters are judged by a representative of the SMHR-nominated Consumer Organisation based on the following criteria:

1.  The relevance of the research presented for mental health consumers

2.  The clarity of presentation

Timothy Schofield

SMHR-Schizophrenia Fellowship of NSW Research Trust Fund Consumer-Researcher Award

A certificate and award of $500 will be presented at the Annual Conference. The conditions of this award are the same as the conditions of the SMHR Consumer-Researcher Award. This award is offered to the second place getter.

Bethany Jones & Bridianne O'Dea

Consumer-Researcher Grants-in-Aid

SMHR funds grants-in-aid via 2015 Mental Health Conference Funding to encourage the involvement of consumers as investigators in psychiatric research in the 2015 SMHR Conference.

Professor Eoin Killackey

Australian Rotary Health Knowledge Dissemination Award

SMHR has a number of awards acknowledging excellence in research. However, there is often a gap between knowledge gained through research and the dissemination of that knowledge to clinicians, consumers and carers, and its implementation into policy and practice. Australian Rotary Health has therefore established an annual award to recognise excellence in knowledge dissemination and research translation.

Not awarded in 2015

Depression & Anxiety Consumer Research Unit (CRU) Medal

The CRU Medal has been established to promote and recognise the contribution of consumer researchers to field of depression and anxiety disorders.

Best Presentation Awards


Christina Perry

Best debut presentation

"In search of an active solution for alcohol-related dementia"

Louise Birrell

Best overall presentation

"Mental health and substance use prevention in schools: The Climate Schools Combined Study"

Best Poster Awards


Sarah Cohen-Woods

Best Debut Poster

"Epigenetic and gene-expression changes in immune candidates following two months of yoga practice: A pilot study"

Jesse Young

Best Overall Poster

"Rising out-of-pocket costs disrupt utilisation of atypical antipsychotics for schizophrenia and bipolar disorder: A whole population cohort study"


SMHR funds grants-in-aid for students and early career researchers to facilitate attendance at the 2015 SMHR Conference.

  1. Katrina Champion

  2. Laura Finlayson-Short

  3. Emma Gliddon

  4. Sarah Herniman

  5. Francesca Kuperman

  6. Kathryn Woodcock

  7. Jesse Young