Join us to raise money for mental health research.

 ,   ,   

SMHR Award Winners 2015
Awarded at the 37th Annual SMHR Conference, Brisbane, Qld

SMHR is pleased to announce the worthy winners of the 2015 SMHR Awards: 

SMHR Founders Medal - Professor Michael Berk

This award was named in honour of the four founders of SMHR: Professors Scott Henderson, Issy Pilowsky, Graham Burrows and Peter Beaumont. The medal is awarded to persons who, over their entire careers, have made a contribution of significance to psychiatric research.

SMHR Oration Award - Professor Maree Teesson

This Oration is given at each conference by a member of SMHR who is prominent or rising to prominence in the Australian and New Zealand psychiatric research community.

SMHR Rising Star Award - Dr Philip Batterham

The SMHR Rising Star Award is intended for SMHR researchers whose work is beginning to make a significant impact on the national and international scene, reflecting either scientific excellence or public impact (or both) - the "rising stars" in mental health research.

SMHR Early Career Scholar Award - Rohan Borschmann

This award is for a researcher early in their career to enable attendance at the 2015 SMHR Conference.

SMHR Consumer-Researcher Award - Bethany Jones

The SMHR Consumer-Researcher Award has been set up to encourage the involvement of consumers as investigators in psychiatric research as well as to encourage consumer-oriented research. Posters are judged by a representative of the SMHR-nominated Consumer Organisation based on the following criteria:

1.  The relevance of the research presented for mental health consumers

2.  The clarity of presentation

SMHR-Schizophrenia Fellowship of NSW Research Trust Fund Consumer-Researcher Award - Timothy Schofield

A certificate and award of $500 will be presented at the Annual Conference. The conditions of this award are the same as the conditions of the SMHR Consumer-Researcher Award. This award is offered to the second place getter.

Consumer-Researcher Grants-in-Aid

  1. Bethany Jones
  2. Bridianne O'Dea

SMHR funds grants-in-aid via 2015 Mental Health Conference Funding to encourage the involvement of consumers as investigators in psychiatric research in the 2015 SMHR Conference.

Depression & Anxiety Consumer Research Unit (CRU) Medal - Not awarded in 2015

The CRU Medal has been established to promote and recognise the contribution of consumer researchers to field of depression and anxiety disorders. 

Australian Rotary Health Knowledge Dissemination Award - Professor Eoin Killackey

SMHR has a number of awards acknowledging excellence in research. However, there is often a gap between knowledge gained through research and the dissemination of that knowledge to clinicians, consumers and carers, and its implementation into policy and practice. Australian Rotary Health has therefore established an annual award to recognise excellence in knowledge dissemination and research translation.

Best Presentation Awards

Best debut presentation: Christina Perry ("In search of an active solution for alcohol-related dementia")

Best overall presentation: Louise Birrell ("Mental health and substance use prevention in schools: The Climate Schools Combined Study")

Best Poster Awards

Best Debut Poster: Sarah Cohen-Woods ("Epigenetic and gene-expression changes in immune candidates following two months of yoga practice: A pilot study")

Best Overall Poster: Jesse Young ("Rising out-of-pocket costs disrupt utilisation of atypical antipsychotics for schizophrenia and bipolar disorder: A whole population cohort study")


SMHR funds grants-in-aid for students and early career researchers to facilitate attendance at the 2015 SMHR Conference.

  1. Katrina Champion
  2. Laura Finlayson-Short
  3. Emma Gliddon
  4. Sarah Herniman
  5. Francesca Kuperman
  6. Kathryn Woodcock
  7. Jesse Young

Subscribe to our Newsletter